PDA

View Full Version : Cadets do you understand the time commitment?

Pima
7th April 2010, 05:58 PM
A lot of threads are flying now about actual time commitments. I would like to read from the cadets/candidates what they believe their actual commitment is?

For example, do you think that accepting a rank means you owe NO commitment? Do you believe if you accept a military move after 3 yrs in service that you can still dive at 5? Do you believe that if you use the military to get a Masters degree you will not owe back time?

In other words do YOU believe you can do a 5 and dive? (Caveat:UPT).

Eagle 1
7th April 2010, 09:26 PM
As a USAF pilot, I'd incur a 10 year commitment after training. I plan on making it a career, but by the sounds of that, it seems like at least 12-13 years.

SamAca10
7th April 2010, 09:50 PM
I knew that there was a commitment each time you advanced in rank, but I don't know how much that time commitment is. Would anyone happen to know?

I was planning at least serving the full 8 year commitment .

Isn't it possible for SA grads to use the post 9/11 GI Bill to pay for their Master's Degrees? I think LITS mentioned something once on SAF

raimius
8th April 2010, 03:28 AM
Commitment for UPT (10 years, after gaining wings)
Commitment for PCS or promotion
Commitment for graduate studies (based on time of study and/or date of last class)

KveTina
8th April 2010, 03:41 AM
About how many people actually do the five and dive? Is it really that many people who are really planning on five and diving?

Mikeandcris
8th April 2010, 04:17 AM
Is the length of commitment a moving target based on the needs of the military and the whims of the administration?

flieger83
8th April 2010, 05:58 AM
If the commitment is a huge concern...

Be glad you're not French and attending L'École de l'Air...or however its spelled (I do decent Russian and good Spanish, but French...not since 3d grade).

Their commitment is 25 years after graduation.

Steve
USAFA ALO
USAFA '83