Computer Science and Flying?

Gmlax92

5-Year Member
I'm only a sixteen year old kid but I've been interested in the service academies since I was little. I've always been interested in flying and computer science. Recently it was brought to my attention that you can major in computer science in the Air Force and Naval academies. My question to you guys is whether or not i could acquire a degree in computer science and fly at the same time. That way a career with computer science would be an option after my service commitment. Thank you!

You can. Your major does not affect which career path you take w/ the AF o

the USAF is leaning towards more unmanned drones and if you didn't notice, securing cyberspace is also the trend. sounds like a perfect fit for you-

Comuter Science and Flying

I majored in CS (computer science) at USAFA and was a navigator in the AF. I was later able to get my Masters Degree in CS and teach CS at USAFA. It was difficult to stay current in CS while in a flying assignment. But that pretty much applies to any engineering/science career field. Good luck.

One thing to consider: your service commitment can be up to 10 years for a pilot, so when you are talking about your post-commitment career, you got to factor that in. What do you want to do after those 10 years,at perhaps age 33? Start from the beginning with every other recent college grad, working on writing software? Or would you prefer to be in a mangement position by that time (where you'll pull in a salary close to what you are getting in pay and benefits as a senior Capt in the AF)?