Placement Tests

Matthewmillr94

5-Year Member
Hey all,

I'm just graduated high school last Friday and will be attending Northwestern Preparatory School on a Falcon Foundation scholarship. I have taken single variable calculus 3 times if you include my AP Calculus BC course, a course that I took at a local university in the summer between my Junior and Senior year, and self studying calculus on MIT's open course ware website (which I highly recommend as a study aid as well as a source to learn entirely new subjects). This summer I am studying multivariable calculus (which, I have been told, is equivalent to Calculus III or Calculus IV). I have also taken two AP Physics courses (B and C) and have done extensive research in both classical Newtonian mechanics as well as electricity and magnetism.

Taking all this into consideration, as well as the fact that I will be taking more advanced mathematics and physics courses during my spring semester, how far would the academy let me place out of classes? Is it possible to, say, verify Calculus IV? I've been having some trouble finding this information on the Academy's website.

Thank you for your time.

You will take a math placement test during basic at the Academy. They will use the results of that test, along with your prior grades/SAT scores, etc., to determine what level of calculus is right for you. Some are placed in a pre-cal class, some in the standard Calc 1, some in Calc 2, etc. One of the girls in my son's squardon was placed in what would be comparable to the 4th level calc class (although I don't think it's called Calc 4). I haven't heard of anyone being placed any higher than that, but I suppose it's possible.