United States of America Service Academy Forums  

Go Back   United States of America Service Academy Forums > Service Academy Discussion > Military Academy - USMA

Old 4th July 2012

Default The weakening of Beast Barracks

Well for one, it's not allowed to be called Beast Barracks anymore. Someone might be offended or get the impression that it's hard.

Other changes from "my day" (which was not all that long ago) include...

1. Cadre may not yell outside
2. No table duties for new cadets
3. Cadre may issue only limited physical corrections
4. Water tents and shade tents in the Area and at the cadet in the red sash

Can't imagine what they've done with the rest of Beast. Oops, I mean CBT...

Ten more years of this and we'll almost be USAFA...

Last edited by scoutpilot; 4th July 2012 at 02:24 AM.
Old 4th July 2012

I am a grad but not a "The Corps Has" type. However, it is CLEAR that it is no longer Beast Barracks. My son and his roommates (Class of 2015) all said that the were very surprised that "Beast" was not very hard. They said that the Upperclassmen were very limited in what they could do and that the physical training was very easy because they adjusted the difficulty to the weaker people in the unit. The drop-out rate during CBT is very low compared to past years because the New Cadets are not under the great pressure as is years past. I do not know why or when this changed - is this progress?
Old 4th July 2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigNick View Post