United States of America Service Academy Forums  

Go Back   United States of America Service Academy Forums > Service Academy Discussion > Air Force Academy - USAFA

Old 1st May 2008

Question how should homeschoolers prepare for the USAFA

Hey I'm a new member and I was just wondering if any of you more experienced members would be able to give me advice. I'm home schooled, and i was just wondering what you feel the chances of me making it to the USAFA were. I'm an A student and interested in computer science and mathematical science. I had been enrolled in a private school from 6th grade until 8th grade, but my mom didnt want me to go to public school in highschool so she's homeschooling me. When I was at the private school I was very involved with all the programs they had, but now that i'm homeschooling, unless its with my church, i'm not involved in anything. My dad works 2 jobs, and my mom has a part time job and homeschools us, so they can't take me to any extra-curricular activities. I'm hoping to be able to take Driver's Ed. so that I can get a school permit and drive myself, but first I need to get a job to pay for it. In the mean time, does anyone have any advice on how i could solve my extra-curricular problem. Thanks.
Old 1st May 2008
Banned

http://www.academyadmissions.com/adm...homeschool.php

Guidelines for Home-Schooled Students

Home-schooled students are as competitive for appointment as any other student – academic, athletic and leadership potential are evaluated the same as with any other applicant.

While not absolutely necessary, we highly recommend that home-school students attend college or junior college for a year before entering the Academy. Taking a full academic load, as determined by the college and participating in the classroom environment will enhance your chances of adapting quickly and easily to the highly structured life of a cadet, should you receive an appointment.